Briefings from the Board


By Arlen Reimnitz, Executive Director 

Board Names Winners of 2019 Maureen Berkeley Award 

Pictured from left to right: Gary Semb, Jill Mackey, Andrew Todd Ham

The Maureen Berkeley Memorial Award was established in 1966 to perpetuate the dignity, stature and professional attitude that Maureen brought to the profession by recognizing outstanding papers in The Neurodiagnostic Journal. The award is given for the most outstanding educational article or paper written by a neurodiagnostic technologist during the year and published in the journal. Papers are nominated by the journal’s Editorial Board and then voted on by the ASET Board of Trustees. The recipients of this year’s award are Andrew Todd Ham, BS, R. EEG T., CLTM; Jill Mackey, R. EEG T., CLTM, RPSGT; and Gary Semb, AS, R. EEG T., RSPGT, for their paper, “The Identification of Torsades de Pointes via CEEG: A Case Report on a Patient with Physiologically Provoked Nonepileptic Events.” The paper was published in the June 2018 issue of the journal.  

Winner of 2019 Janet Ghigo Award Announced 

President Connie Kubiak (left) and Mary Ellen Wells (right)

The Janet Ghigo Award, established in 2005, recognizes a student technologist author of an outstanding article published in The Neurodiagnostic Journal. It is named after Janet Ghigo, who served as Managing Editor of the journal from September 1989 through December 2004. The purpose of the award is to encourage students to write articles for the journal with the hopes of mentoring future authors who will continue to write articles once they are practicing in the field. 

The recipient of the 2019 award is Nicole Haddock, BS, RPSGT, for her paper, “The Association Between Treated and Untreated OSA and Depression,” which was published in the March 2018 issue of the journal. At the time of publication, Nicole was a student in the Neurodiagnostics and Sleep Science Bachelor’s degree program at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.  Accepting the award on behalf of Nicole was Mary Ellen Wells, Ph.D., R. EEG T., RPSGT, R.NCS.T., co-author of the paper and Director and Associate Professor of the UNC Charlotte program.  

Board Selects Recipient of 2019 Theda Sannit Award 

Faye McNall (left) pictured with President Connie Kubiak (right)

The Theda Sannit Outstanding Educator Award was established in 1990 by the Philadelphia Regional EEG Technologists Association and the Eastern Society of EEG Technologists to honor Theda’s accomplishments and contributions to EEG. The award was first presented to Theda Sannit herself. In 1992, ASET continued the award on a national basis, recognizing outstanding educators in the field of Neurodiagnostics. In light of Theda’s passing, this award now serves as memory to her legacy.  

This year’s recipient of the Theda Sannit Outstanding Educator Award is Faye Mc Nall, MEd, R. EEG T., FASET.  Faye served as ASET’s Director of Education from October 2004 until her retirement in May 2019. She has spent decades educating ASET members and the Neurodiagnostic masses. Many owe their careers to her counsel and guidance. She has an unequaled passion and love for the profession and the Society.  

Board Names 2019 Class of Fellows 

Any individual who has been a member of the Society in good standing for a minimum of 10 continuous years and who is highly esteemed in the Neurodiagnostic profession as evidenced by the giving of their time and talents in service to the Society and to the Neurodiagnostic profession, and as an ambassador exemplifying and advancing the Neurodiagnostic profession, is eligible for nomination and election as a Fellow. The conferment of Fellow is an honorary designation. Fellows are authorized to use the letters FASET for business and professional purposes. This year, the following four members were inducted into the 2019 Class of Fellows: 

Faisal Jahangiri, MD, DABNM, FASNM, CNIM pictured with President Connie Kubiak

Dr. Faisal Jahangiri, M.D., D.ABNM, FASNM, CNIM

Dr. Jahangiri is Vice President of Clinical Affairs for Axis Neuromonitoring, LLC, Richardson, TX. He also is a Lecturer in the Department of Applied Cognition and Neuroscience at The University of Texas at Dallas. He has been a member of ASET since 2009 and has served as an Assistant Editor to The Neurodiagnostic Journal since 2015. When asked about his most notable moments as a Neurodiagnostic professional, he relayed that, “He will never forget the first time he saw a change in his Intraoperative Neuromonitoring data and informed the surgeon. The surgeon trusted his decision and his intervention saved the patient from an adverse outcome. “ 

Maggie Marsh-Nation, PhD, R.EEG/EP T., CNIM

Maggie Marsh-Nation, Ph.D., R. EEG/EP T., CNIM

Maggie is the Neurodiagnostic Technology Department Chair and Assistant Profession for the Baptist College of Health Sciences in Memphis, TN. Maggie has been a member of ASET since 1984. Along with teaching students online, Maggie relayed that her favorite moment thus far in her Neurodiagnostic career was attending the inaugural meeting of the new African Neurophysiological Society. She wrote, “Helping these brilliant, motivated young technologists to achieve their professional goal is by far the most meaningful project of my life.” 

Eric Padilla, MBA, R. EEG/EP T., CNIM, CLTM

Erik Padilla, MBA, R. EEG/EP T., CNIM, CLTM

Eric is the Director of Neurodiagnostic Services, Clinical Neurophysiology – Epilepsy Center – Sleep Medicine Center, at the Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago in Chicago, IL. Erik has been a member of ASET since 2006. When asked what prompted him to select Neurodiagnostics as a career choice, Erik relayed that his mom was diagnosed with brain cancer when he was 16 years old. She suffered from neurological challenges, and he was impressed by the care provided by two Neurodiagnostic Technologists. “I wanted to be part of that group!” he wrote. 

Kellee Trice, BS, R. EEG/EP T., RPSGT

Kellee Trice, BS, R. EEG/EP T., RPSGT

Kellee is the Director of the Neurodiagnostic Technology Program at the Institute of Health Sciences in Hunt Valley, MD. Kellee has been a member of ASET since 1985. When asked what has been a notable moment as a Neurodiagnostic professional, Kellee replied, “Seeing how life changing a career in Neurodiagnostics can be for some of our students/graduates.” As to what advice Kellee would have for someone just entering the profession, she relayed, “Be passionate about your work, enjoy what you do, always do your best to provide quality services to your patients/customers and commit to lifelong learning.” 

The newly elected Fellows were inducted on August 16, 2019 at the Awards Ceremony Luncheon held in conjunction with ASET’s 60th Anniversary Annual Conference in Kansas City, MO. For the list of Fellows inducted in previous years, select “Fellows” from the pulldown menu under the Membership tab of the ASET website, and then click on Fellow Inductees.  

Membership Votes Down Proposed Bylaws Amendment 

The proposed bylaws amendments that would have expanded the time for Past President Lifetime members to be eligible to again serve on the ASET Board of Trustees from three to six years, and that would have precluded Past Presidents from being eligible to again serve or be appointed as an Officer,  were voted down by the membership. The amendments were placed before the membership for a vote at the August 15, 2019 annual business meeting held in conjunction with ASET’s 60th Anniversary Annual Conference in Kansas City, MO.  

Previous Article

The Five P’s of Communication

Next Article

Welcome New Members to ASET for Fall of 2019

You may also like