Committee Corner: Fall 2020


Membership Committee

Author: Nicklous Morrisette, R. EEG T., CNIM, Chair

As we head into the autumn months and a time of the year when changes are ever-present, I’d like to take a quick moment to thank all of the employees of ASET for adapting to all of the changes that we’ve seen this year. Collectively, the resilience of the Society is a source of inspiration to me, as I witness a cohesive effort to work towards a greater good within our professional community, all while navigating a stressful environment that has been rife with change and transition. Thank you so much to everyone for all that you do and for any of the sacrifices you’ve made along the way.

As for the Membership Committee, we continue to add value to what it means to be an ASET member.

All of the primary footage from the ‘I am ASET’ Video Project has been acquired, and it appears that we will be able to produce a tangible product. The raw footage, and the project as a whole, has been handed off to ASET’s new Marketing Manager for post-production edits. I am confident that the project is in the right hands, and I will be looking forward to some high-quality results by the end of the year!

The September Membership ad for The Neurodiagnostic Journal focused on early membership renewal. The December Membership ad for the Journal is currently in production.

Committee discussions regarding the development of an ASET mobile app continue. The committee reached out to ASET executive leadership and ABRET to work toward a collaboration that, if realized, will provide ASET members with some level of ABRET credentialing and renewal functionality through an ASET mobile app. Our work map for a possible ASET mobile app continues to be refined. Work on deciding an app layout design, interface functionality, and appearance are also being considered. We are on track, and I anticipate that we will be able to maintain our timeline of presenting a final ASET mobile app proposal to ASET executive leadership in late summer 2021.

As always, stay safe and take good care of each other.

Committee Members: Anna Costina, BS, MHA, R. EEG T..; Christopher Moses, R. EEG T.; Christina Newell, R. EEG/EP T.; Magdalena Warzecha, R. EEG/EP T., CLTM

Staff Liaison: Brian Sullivan, MS, Membership Director

Volunteer & Leadership Development Committee Updates

Author: Lindsay Joslyn, R. EEG T., Chair

The Volunteer & Leadership Development Committee has finalized the ASET/ABRET Leadership Academy module outline and has begun submitting recommended edits to each module author. The feedback from committee members has been very constructive and focuses primarily on module standardization. It also endeavors to bring modules up to a more modern and interactive style.

The Committee’s members have been actively engaged during this process and have been instrumental in reviewing modules one by one and participating in feedback discussions. Having all graduated from the Leadership Academy, the committee members are able to provide first-hand insight and ideas for module improvement. Developing future leaders in the field of Neurodiagnostics is always front and center in our minds, and we are focused on providing clear instruction and timely information through our comprehensive review of the Leadership Academy.

Committee Members: Sam Collett, R. EEG T.; Amber Haas, R. EEG/EP T., RPSGT; Emily Kale, R. EP T., CNIM; Lucien Kilonda Fataki; Michael Lingerfelt, R. EEG T.; Clive Robert Patterson, R. EEG T., RPSGT;
Christopher Songster, R. EEG/EP T.

Staff Liaison: Brian Sullivan, MS, Membership Director

Update from the Program Directors Council

Author: Melissa Struewing, M.Ed., R. EEG/EP T., CNIM, CLTM, Chair and Linda Kelly, MS, R. EEG/EP T., R.NCS.T., CNCT, FASET, CSSGB, ASET Director of Education

The Program Directors’ Council is pleased to announce Melissa Struewing, M.Ed., R. EEG/EP T., CNIM, CLTM as the new chairperson. Melissa is Program Director of the Electroneurodiagnostic Program at Sinclair Community College in Ohio. As the Council Chair, Melissa’s goals are to create a mechanism to share services and forms to provide maximum resources to each member or school. She will also promote collaboration among the schools to share expertise and personal experiences regarding common situations encountered in the Neurodiagnostic field — specifically by students, faculty, and clinical sites.

We’d be remiss if we didn’t also thank Marjorie Tucker for her years of service and dedication to this committee. Marjorie is a great asset, and while her leadership will be missed, we are happy she can continue to contribute as a committee member.

The Council typically meets in conjunction with the ASET Annual Conference. This group was still able to meet virtually this year to discuss retention and other topics related to CAAHEP-accreditation. If you are interested in learning more about CAAHEP-accredited NDT programs, visit

Committee Members: All Program Directors

ASET Standards & Practices Committee

Author: Erik Padilla, MBA, R. EEG/EP T., CNIM, CLTM, Chair

The S&P announces the resignation of Susan Agostini, R. EEG/EP T., CLTM, FASET, from the committee. Susan first joined in 2011 and served as Chair of the S&P from 2013–2016. We would like to extend a very special thank you, Susan, for all your dedication, time and hard work in support of the many S&P projects over the last decade. Thank you, Susan! 

The S&P continues our work reviewing and updating the ASET job descriptions, national competencies, and 30-, 60-, and 90-day evaluation checklists. National Competency Skill Standards for autonomics, EEG, ICU/cEEG (adult), IONM, LTME, MEG and NICU/cEEG (neonate) are now open for Public Comment. To review and provide comments, go to: NATIONAL COMPETENCIES FOR PUBLIC COMMENT .  

The S&P are working on many projects: 

  • Developing job descriptions for Neurodiagnostic Assistant, Neurodiagnostic Technologist I – III and Neurodiagnostic Specialist I and II.
  • Updating Nerve Conduction Studies and Evoked Potential documents (job descriptions, evaluation checklists and competencies)

As always, we seek your feedback and look forward to meeting the needs of our membership. Please feel free to contact me and/or staff liaison, Anna Bonner, for inquiries and suggestions because we want to hear from you!

Committee Members: Petra Davidson, BS, R. EEG/EP T., CLTM, FASET; Rebecca Khozein, MBA, DOM, MS, R. EEG/EP T., RPSGT, R.NCS.T.; Trei King, BA, R. EEG T., CNIM; Pat Lordeon, R. EEG T., FASET; Trista Myers, R. EEG T.; Danielle Pierce, R. EEG T., CLTM; Cheryl Plummer, BS, R. EEG T., CLTM, FASET; Kasie Sargent, R. EEG T., CNIM

Staff Liaison: Anna Bonner, BA, R. EEG T., RPSGT, ASET Director of Publications

What’s New with the Formal Education Task Force?

Mary Ellen Wells, Ph.D., RPSGT, R. EEG T., R.NCS.T. and Linda Kelly, MS, R. EEG/EP T., R.NCS.T., CNCT, FASET, CSSGB, Director of Education

One of ASET’s strategic goals is that the education system supports the development of an adequate and qualified Neurodiagnostic workforce. The Formal Education Task Force (FETF) works to advance this goal. Over the last few years, new CAAHEP-accredited programs have been started, but there is still more work to be done to continue to grow the number of qualified technologists in our field. One hurdle that has been identified by many educators is a lack of clinical sites. This is where you can help! There are many benefits to becoming a clinical site. We’ve recently updated the “Clinical Site” section on our website, including a brand new brochure. Please consider becoming a clinical site. To learn more or to discover the benefits of being a clinical site, click here.

Previous Article

Special Interest Section: Fall 2020

Next Article

Foundation News & Updates – Fall 2020

You may also like