Multi-Pronged Advocacy Effort


Author & Chair: Kevin McCarthy, BA, CNIM 

It continues to be a busy time for ASET’s multi-pronged advocacy efforts. Our Governmental Advocacy Committee (GAC) continues to monitor legislation across the country for any bills that may impact our industry. Currently, 14 state legislatures and the District of Columbia are in active sessions, and we will soon be gearing up for the beginning of the year when most state legislatures convene. 

As part of our advocacy efforts, we serve as a resource for the California Chapter of ASET as they endeavor to introduce a licensure bill when the California legislature convenes early next year. ASET awarded a licensure grant for the chapter to pursue these efforts, and the GAC is actively serving as a knowledge base, providing strategic recommendations to ensure that the chapter is well-equipped to push the bill successfully.

Additionally, ASET sent a formal letter of public comment to CMS regarding the proposed Medicare Physician Fee Schedule for 2021. In the letter, ASET expressed concern about cuts across the board, the potential impact on our profession and the ability to provide timely, quality healthcare services. Sent in collaboration with the ACNS call-to-action on the issue, this letter is in alignment with their efforts.   

In the meantime, any state chapters or licensure committees interested in scheduling a conference call or virtual roundtable update on licensure or advocacy activities, please contact Jennifer Montgomery, Director of Operations and Government Affairs, at (816) 944-3249 or

Staff Liaison: Jennifer K. Montgomery, BA

Committee Members: Scott Blodgett, MBA, R. EEG T., RPSGT, RST; Tina Denison, R. EEG. T.; Gina DiCarlo, CNIM, BS, AS; Roberta Esfandiarfard, R. EEG T.; Jeannette Garcia, R. EEG T.; Kathryn Hansen, BS, R. EEG T., CPC; Marie Hamid, AS, R. EEG T.; Mark Helderman, R. EEG/EP T., CNIM; Karen Hordienko, AS, R. EEG T.; Kevin McCarthy, BA, CNIM ; Keith Morgan, MBA, R. EEG T.; Kristina Port, MPA, R. EEG/EP T., RPSGT, CNIM; Tarilla Redick, R. EEG T.; Kristin Roberts, AS, R. EEG/EP T.; Joe Soto, R. EP T. & CNIM; Julia Traiano, CNIM, BA; Lee Traweek, CEO.

Previous Article

Board Briefings – Fall 2020

Next Article

Department of Education Update

You may also like